Women’s national league kicks off April 17

The Women’s National League Football Tournament 2073 is set to start on April 17 at the ANFA training ground, Satdobato.

Eight teams — divided into two groups — are said to feature at the league tournament which includes three departmental sides and five regional teams.

Group A consists of defending champions Nepal Police Team, Central Region, Eastern Region and Mid-western Region, according to ANFA news release. While Tribhuwan Army Club, Nepal APF Club, Western Region and Far-western Region are in Group B.

Top two teams in the league, the champions Nepal Police Club and Tribhuvan Army Club are top seeds in Group A and Group B respectively.

The women’s national league football tournament will be played in two phases of round robin league format. In the group phase teams in each group will face each other followed by the Super league where top two teams from each group will once again play each other.

Women's National Football League fixtures
Women’s National Football League fixtures. (click to enlarge)

This year’s prize pot stands at Rs 200,000 for the winner and Rs 100,000 for the runner up. Individual awards of Rs 25,000 each for the Best Goal keeper, Best forward, Best mid-fielder, Best defender and Best coach is also announced by the ANFA.

In addition, the five regional teams are said to receive Rs 68,000 each as preparation fund from ANFA while the departmental teams are said to receive Rs 5,000 as match allowance after their respective matches.